Thursday, May 14, 2015

Longtime Marshall Pediatrics physician named West Virginia’s Pediatrician of the Year

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.—Norman C. Cottrill, D.O., a board-certified pediatrician with the department of pediatrics at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine has been named the 2015 Pediatrician of the Year by the West Virginia Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Cottrill is an assistant professor of pediatrics and has been with Marshall Pediatrics since 1998.

“We are so pleased that Dr. Cottrill has been recognized with this honor,” said Dr. Joseph Evans, chairman of the department of pediatrics. “He is loved by his patients and their families and truly represents what a pediatrician should be. “

A 1987 graduate of the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, Cottrill completed a residency in pediatrics at West Virginia University and has a clinical interest in ambulatory pediatrics. He practices at the Marshall Pediatrics Teays Valley office. In addition, he and Dr. Mary S. “Mitzi” Payne, a pediatric neurologist with Marshall Neuroscience, evaluate and treat pediatric concussion patients at the Marshall University Medical Center.

For more information or to schedule an appointment, please call 304-691-8870.


Media Contact:
Leah C. Payne
Director of Public Affairs
Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy