Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Marshall School of Medicine establishes new neurosurgery, neurology departments
Alberico, Ferguson named as chairs

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine has expanded its neuroscience program, allowing for creation of separate departments of  neurosurgery and neurology, Joseph I. Shapiro, M.D., dean of the school of medicine, announced today.

“The growth of our neuroscience program, both academically and clinically, speaks volumes of the need for more doctors who treat diseases of the nervous system,” Shapiro said.  “This step allows us to provide more extensive neuro education to our students and expands our high-quality advanced care for patients.”

Shapiro also announced that Anthony M. Alberico, M.D., who has served as neuroscience chairman, will now become the chairman of the newly formed department of neurosurgery. The dean appointed Paul B. Ferguson, M.D., as interim chairman of the department of neurology.

“Dr. Alberico is a dynamic, forward thinking leader and under his direction our neuroscience program has flourished extensively,” Shapiro said.  “I am pleased he has accepted this new position.  Likewise, Dr. Ferguson has served in many leadership capacities with the School of Medicine and is exceptionally suited to assume the role of interim chair of the department of neurology.”

Alberico received his medical degree from the Temple University School of Medicine and completed residency training at the Medical College of Virginia. He is experienced in the management of spinal disorders and in developing advances in spine care. Alberico is board-certified in neurosurgery and joined Marshall in 2007.    

A specialist in diagnosing and treating headaches as well as multiple sclerosis, Ferguson joined the School of Medicine as a faculty member in 2011 after completing residencies in neurology at Marshall and Wake Forest University.  He graduated from Marshall’s Medical School in 2007.

To complement growth of the department, the School of Medicine is bringing on additional faculty physicians during the next year, including two during July:

Reconfiguration of the department of neuroscience will accommodate new patient exam rooms and laboratory space.  The school also anticipates establishing a new neurology residency program in the coming years.

The departmental changes were effective July 1.


Media Contacts:  
Leah C. Payne
Director of Public Affairs
Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy

Sheanna M. Spence
Assistant Director, Alumni Affairs & Community Relations
Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine